Informationen Service Wir akzeptieren
paypal kreditkarten zahlung visa mastercard american express amex
Vorkasse / Nachnahme
Top 200 Label
thawte ssl security
Social Bookmarks

The Ecstatic

( talib kweli - blackstar - black star )

Label: Downtown
Art.Nr.: 09538662
Kat.Nr.: -
Jahr: 2009
Cover: Picture
Format: 2LP
Pressung: US - Reissue

Zustand: Neu
Top: 104
Hip Hop / Rap
Mos Def - The Ecstatic

Finally, this Mos Def classic gets a proper reissue treatment. “The Ecstatic” is the 2009 fourth studio album by American rapper Mos Def. Released in June 2009, The Ecstatic charted at number nine on the Billboard 200.

After venturing further away from hip hop with an acting career and two poorly received albums, Mos Def signed with Downtown Records and recorded “The Ecstatic” primarily at the Record Plant in Los Angeles. He worked with producers such as Preservation, Mr. Flash, Oh No, and Madlib, the latter two of whom reused instrumentals they had produced on Stones Throw Records. Singer Georgia Anne Muldrow, formerly of the record label, was one of the album's few guest vocalists, along with rappers Slick Rick and Talib Kweli. For its front cover, a still from Charles Burnett's 1978 film “Killer of Sheep” was reproduced in red tint.

The Ecstatic was described by music journalists as a conscious and alternative hip hop record with an eccentric, internationalist quality. Mos Def's raps about global politics, love, spirituality, and social conditions were informed by the zeitgeist of the late 2000s, Black internalionalism, and Pan-Islamic ideas, as he incorporated a number of Islamic references throughout the album. Its loosely structured, lightly reverbed songs used unconventional time signatures and samples taken from a variety of international musical styles, including Afrobeat, soul, Eurodance, jazz, reggae, Latin, and Middle Eastern music. Mos Def titled “The Ecstatic” after one of his favorite novels—the 2002 Victor LaValle book of the same name—believing its titular phrase evoked his singular creative vision for the album.

Keine Bewertungen
Vinyl 2LP Only Vinyl
32,95 €*
Noch nicht lieferbar, vorbestellbar. Vorauss. lieferbar ab: 25.10.2017
Vinyl 2LP + Digital Vinyl + Digital Vinyl + Digital
35,95 €*
Noch nicht lieferbar, vorbestellbar. Vorauss. lieferbar ab: 25.10.2017
A1.SupermagicOh No
A2.Twilite SpeedballMos Def, Th...
A3.AuditoriumThe RulerMadlib, Mos...
B2.Quiet Dog Bite HardPreservation
B3.Life In Marvelous TimesMr. Flash
B4.The EmbassyMos Def, Mr...
C1.No Hay Nada MasPreservation
C2.PistolaOh No
C3.Pretty DancerMadlib
C4.Workers Comp.Mr. Flash
D2.RosesGeorgia Ann...Georgia Ann...
D3.HistoryTalib KweliJ Dilla
D4.Casa Bey
Keine Bewertungen

Es liegen keine Kommentare zu diesem Artikel vor.
**Ware unterliegt der Differenzbesteuerung nach Paragraph 25a UstG, zzgl. Versandkosten
© 2011-2017 Vinyl Digital GmbH