Emancipator – Seven Seas (Green Vinyl)

Loci / Vinyl Digital

DE - Original
EXCLUSIVES + Downtempo / Downbeat + Beat Art + Electronic + Hip Hop / Rap + Instrumentals + Trip Hop + Broken Beats / Headz
lapalux, flying lotus, emancipator, dj krush, bonobo
Emancipator - Seven Seas (Green Vinyl)
1 Rating

Vinyl Digital Exclusive: Limited Edition of 400 Copies on Dark Green Vinyl - only 200 for Europe! 

"There is simply nothing more welcoming to the ears than a new Emancipator record. Slathered with organic rhythms and dripping with fusion atmospheres, Doug Appling’s (Emancipator) newest creation is once again a freely majestic pilgrimage into the depths of worldly sound. Seven Seas could not be a more appropriate name, as the album could easily fit flawlessly as the soundtrack to an oceanic escapade lasting months, or even years, in exile.

The inclusion of electronic elements is no foreign concept to Appling, but nor is it any predominant requirement. Occasional synthesizer beams scan themselves across the sound spectrum being produced. The focal point of each composition, however, remains the pressing organic elements signature to the Emancipator sound. Frequently accompanied by live violin, and more recently a larger arrangement in the form of the Emancipator Ensemble, Appling has shown tirelessly that the presence of live instrumentation is a key component of his vision.

Teasing guitar strums and chiming piano keys often introduce the songs of Seven Seas. Each composition emerges out of its organic components. The structures are kept minimal, but steadily moving through constant evolution to maintain the listener’s interest. At the root, these are electronically produced instrumentals, but taking an overall perspective there is truly so much more happening within the confines of the record. Each track is segmented, implementing distinct sections through which its instrumental and production components can highlight themselves and bask in their own, natural beauty.

Not only does the release add to the furthering impressive discography of Emancipator, but also that of Appling’s own founded label, Loci Records. The Portland, Oregon label has seen itself home to the releases of numerous artists clearly inspired by Appling’s own musical expeditions, each dipping their personal touches on to their according audio canvases."  (Kyle Taylor http://funkadelphia.wordpress.com)

Vinyl 2LP Only Vinyl
19,95 €*
Definetly sold out
Vinyl 2LP + Digital Vinyl + Digital Vinyl + Digital
21,95 €*
Definetly sold out
A1. All in HereEmancipator05:20play
A2. Seaven SeasMadelyn GrantEmancipator04:00play
A3. 1993Emancipator05:02play
B1. OcelotEmancipator04:36play
B2. Vision QuestEmancipator05:33play
B3. Land & SeaMolly PartiEmancipator06:01play
C1. CanopyEmancipator06:03play
C2. Delta TranceEmancipator03:01play
C3. The KeyEmancipator05:31play
D1. OasisEmancipator04:52play
D2. HoneyEmancipator03:59play
D3. BarnaclesEmancipator06:08play
1 Rating
Jochem Frank writes: Time: 01:03 Date: 22.11.2015 Rating:  5
2015-11-22 01:03:00 Seven Seas (Green Vinyl) from 19,95 €
As you would expect from Emancipator - another ambient, downtempo album that is great for all sorts of occasions: studying, relaxing, hanging out with friends.
This album feels a bit more melodic and harmonious than his previous one - Dusk to Dawn - and makes this record more accessible to first time listeners and a little less "square" than some of his earlier tracks. On Seven Seas Emancipator shows that he has grown as both a musician and a producer as his production quality and feel for harmony have greatly approved when compared to Soon It Will Be Cold Enough (which was already somewhat of a masterpiece)

If you're a fan of Emancipator or similar artists (think Bonobo et al.), give this album a listen and be amazed by the grandeur of this sweetly soothing album.