UB40 – Collected

Music On Vinyl

First Date:
EU - Reissue
Classic Rock + Rock / Indie + Reggae / Roots + Exotic Grooves + Beat Art + Pop & Various
jimmy cliff, burning spear, bob marley
UB40 - Collected
Keine Bewertungen

2020 Reissue!

Music On Vinyl proudly presents a brand new series of COLLECTED albums. The new albums will focus on memorable artists with almost a life span of original intriguing music, covering a timeless musical period!

The year 1978 in the United Kingdom was a year in which the country's huge inflation was only seemingly halted, unemployment numbers reached a post-war record of one and a half million. It was this highly unstable and dark environment that drove a group of mostly unemployed former school friends to start playing upbeat and sunny yet serious music. The group expanded to its core of eight quickly and held its ranks strongly for thirty years.

The members of the band choose their name after a piece of paper most of them were all too familiar with: Unemployment Benefit form 40, in short: UB40. The name was put on posters and the band was promoted even before each member fully understood his instrument.

Early 1980, UB40 scored their first success with "Food For Thought", reaching high in the charts. By the time they released their first album they were already so successful that they had signed off on unemployment benefit, leading to the stamped Signing Off featured on form 40, for the sleeve of their debut album.

The first dub album ever to reach the album charts in the U.K. included "One In Ten" and "Don't Slow Down".

In 1983 the band put on a new project, boasting ten cover versions of Jamaican hits and, contrary to low expectations, it became a huge hit and the band's first number one album. Tracks included are "Cherry Oh Baby" and "Please Don't Make Me Cry"and "Red Red Wine". The latter was a rather poppy song and became the band's biggest selling single ever, entailing their definitive worldwide break through.

There have been lots of collaborations through the years and most of these became huge hit songs. Together with Chrissie Hynde UB40 recorded two singles: "I Got You Babe" (1985) and "Breakfast In Bed" (1988). They teamed up with Afrika Bambaataa for "Reckless" (1988) and with Robert Palmer the band released "I'll Be Your Baby Tonight" (1990), just to name a few.

UB40 - COLLECTED has captured all the different phases of the band in one complete album, from classic hits combined with the new!

Vinyl 2LP Only Vinyl
29,95 €*
Lieferbar in 2 bis 3 Wochen
Vinyl 2LP + Digital Vinyl + Digital Vinyl + Digital
32,95 €*
Lieferbar in 2 bis 3 Wochen
A1. Tyler05:50play
A2. Burden Of Shame06:28play
A3. I Think It's Going To Rain Today03:41play
A4. Food For Thought04:06play
A5. Don't Do The Crime04:07play
B1. One In Ten04:29play
B2. Sardonicus04:28play
B3. Please Don't Make Me Cry03:22play
B4. Cherry Oh Baby03:17play
B5. Red Red Wine03:01play
B6. If It Happens Again03:41play
B7. Don't Slow Down04:27play
C1. I Got You BabeChrissie Hynde03:08play
C2. Don't Break My Heart03:49play
C3. Sing Our Own Song03:56play
C4. Rat In Mi Kitchen03:02play
C5. All I Want To Do05:30play
C6. Maybe Tomorrow03:20play
C7. Reckless03:50play
D1. Breakfast In BedChrissie Hynde03:15play
D2. Homely Girl03:24play
D3. Kingston Town03:45play
D4. I'll be your Baby TonightUB4003:22play
D5. Tears From My Eyes03:43play
D6. Here I Am (Come And Take Me)04:16play
D7. (I Can't Help) Falling In Lov...03:23play
Keine Bewertungen

Es liegen keine Kommentare zu diesem Artikel vor.