Robin Carolan & Sebastian Gainsborough – The Northman (Soundtrack / O.S.T.) [Black Vinyl]

Sacred Bones

Picture Gatefold
US - Original
Soundtracks + Pop & Various
ost, jonny greenwood, johnny klimek & tom tykwer, hans zimmer
Robin Carolan & Sebastian Gainsborough - The Northman (Soundtrack / O.S.T.) [Black Vinyl]
Keine Bewertungen

Standard Edition Black Double Vinyl in Gatefold Sleeve.

"Rob wanted the world of The Northman to feel harsh and uncomfortable, and for everything to feel like it was caked in mud and dry blood, so it was crucial for the score to mirror that." Composers Robin Carolan (Tri-Angle Records) and Sebastian Gainsborough (Vessel) were given a task of epic proportions when director Rob Eggers (The VVitch, The Lighthouse) asked them to create the score for his ambitious and highly anticipated new film The Northman, releasing on April 22nd. They needed to make a score that both honored the immense research that had gone into the authenticity of this Viking era period piece and complimented the cinematic maximalism of the film for a modern audience. The artists stretched themselves to the depths of their creativity and the resulting album is a gorgeous sonic tableaux that places the listener right in the center of the film. While arranging the score the composers consulted musician and ethnographer Poul Hoxbro for inspiration and insight into the history of Viking music. Having backgrounds in left field electronic music, Robin and Sebastian felt liberated by the constraint of using a small selection of musical tools for this piece. "Electronic music has almost limitless potential when it comes to making sounds and that's obviously an incredible thing, but you can also go down the wormhole and get lost in it sometimes. There's no risk of that happening when you only have a few primary instruments to draw upon." Robin remarked. They utilized traditional instruments such as the tagelharpa, langspil, kravik lyre, and säckpip to build the cinematic world of The Northman but they also took creative freedoms in adding instruments likes drums, which some academics believe wouldn't have played a big part in Viking musical culture, simply due to the lack of archaeological evidence of actual drums. "One of the pieces we wrote was intended to emulate the sound of a bullroarer; an ancient instrument used in sacred rituals or in battle to intimidate enemies. It makes a really disorienting roaring vibrato sound and low frequencies capable of traveling insane distances." Robin says when asked about one of the more unique aspects of the score. Everyone involved put so much effort into both their research and their creativity and this richness is evident in every track. The album as a whole is a cinematic masterpiece of sound and ambiance, both gorgeous and disturbing, like the film it so beautifully accompanies.

Vinyl 2LP Only Vinyl
29,95 €*
Noch nicht lieferbar, vorbestellbar. Vorauss. lieferbar ab: 15.07.2022
Vinyl 2LP + Digital Vinyl + Digital Vinyl + Digital
32,95 €*
Noch nicht lieferbar, vorbestellbar. Vorauss. lieferbar ab: 15.07.2022
A1. Approaching Hrafnsey
A2. The King
A3. Entering The Temple
A4. Last Teardrop
A5. Blood Tree, Part I
A6. Strike, Brother
A7. Escape
A8. I Will Avenge You, Father
A9. The Land Of The Rus
A10. A Burning Barn
B1. Seeress
B2. Raven's Omen
B3. Storm At Sea / Yggdrasill
B4. Iceland
B5. I Will Save You, Mother
B6. Slave Work
B7. Gudruacuten
B8. Follow The Vixen's Tail
B9. He-Witch
B10. Draugr
B11. Mound Dweller
B12. To The Games
C1. Birch Woods
C2. First Of Many
C3. Trollish Sorcery
C4. Svid Night, Part I
C5. Svid Night, Part Ii
C6. I Am Your Death
C7. Come Morning
C8. I Am His Vengeance
C9. Odinn
D1. Valkyrie
D2. Vestrahorn
D3. Hidden Valley
D4. Blood Tree, Part Ii
D5. Bloacuted Inside / I Choose Both
D6. A Maiden King
D7. The Wolf Has Grown
D8. The Gates Of Hel / Slain By Iron
D9. Hekla
D10. Cut The Thread Of Fate
D11. Make Your Passage / Valhoumlll
D12. Aeligttartreacute / End Credits
Keine Bewertungen

Es liegen keine Kommentare zu diesem Artikel vor.