Prodigy (Mobb Deep) – H.N.I.C (Red Vinyl)

Get On Down
GET51327-12 / GET51504-LP

US - Reissue
Hip Hop / Rap + United States
raekwon, nas, havoc, big punisher
Prodigy (Mobb Deep) - H.N.I.C (Red Vinyl)
Keine Bewertungen

2022 Reissue / Repress on Red with Smoke Colored Vinyl!

When it comes to authentic, ride-or-die hip-hop, few crews have as much resonance as Mobb Deep. Featuring two double-threat MCs who also produced - Havoc and the sadly-departed Prodigy - the crew changed the hardcore rap game in 1995 with their sophomore classic The Infamous, and went on to rule the dark corners of hip-hop for the second half of the 90s and well into the 2000s. After multiple Mobb Deep platters in the '90s, Prodigy entered the 2000s as a solo artist with force, rolling over a stomping, piano-freaked backdrop laced by producer The Alchemist, with "Keep It Thoro." It has held up over time, proving itself as an anthemic classic that the streets and clubs still respect. Flaunting a smooth-but-menacing flow, Prodigy's no-nonsense lyricism on "Keep It Thoro" is prototypical modern age brag rap. Countless MCs have followed his flow, from Fabolous to Joey Bada$$. The song is short and sweet, clocking in at just over 3 minutes. There are no wasted verses, just hardcore rhymes that stay with you. But "Thoro" was the tip of the iceberg on what proved to be one of the more coveted rap full-lengths of the era. The album boasted other charting singles, including "Rock Dat Shit" and "Y.B.E." (featuring B.G.), but it can be argued that the album's real gems are buried deeper. "Genesis," "What U Rep" (featuring Noreaga) and "Three" are all sinister yet pensive. "Wanna Be Thugs" and "Delt With The Bullshit" are strong and evocative Mobb Deep cuts, featuring production and vocals by Havoc. And alongside other standouts, perhaps the deepest cut of all - especially in light of Prodigy's recent and way-too-soon passing due to complications from Sickle Cell Anemia - is "You Can Never Feel My Pain," which details the health issues and challenges this talented MC and producer had been facing his whole life. H.N.I.C. was Prodigy's first solo album, but it is perhaps his best. Among fans he will never be forgotten, for his skills, his storytelling and his no-B.S. approach to the art of MCing.

Vinyl 2LP Only Vinyl
36,95 €*
Lieferbar in 2 bis 3 Wochen
Vinyl 2LP + Digital Vinyl + Digital Vinyl + Digital
39,95 €*
Lieferbar in 2 bis 3 Wochen
A1. Bars & Hooks (Intro)Bars N HooksRonald "Got...01:18play
A2. GenesisRonald "Got...02:49play
A3. Drive Thru (Skit)Ronald "Got...00:16play
A4. Rock Dat ShitRonald "Got...04:21play
A5. What U RepN.O.R.E.Ronald "Got...04:32play
A6. Keep It ThoroRonald "Got...03:06play
B1. Can't ComplainChinky, Twi...Ronald "Got...04:19play
B2. Infamous MindedBig NoydRonald "Got...03:27play
B3. Wanna Be ThugsHavocRonald "Got...02:50play
B4. ThreeCormegaRonald "Got...02:20play
B5. Delt W/ The Bullsh*tHavocRonald "Got...03:22play
C1. Trials Of LoveB.K.Ronald "Got...03:51play
C2. H.N.I.C.Ronald "Got...03:01play
C3. Be Cool (Skit)Ronald "Got...00:16play
C4. Veteran's MemorialRonald "Got...04:56play
C5. Do ItMike DeloreanRonald "Got...03:22play
D1. Littles (Skit)LittlesRonald "Got...01:20play
D2. Y.B.E.B.G.Ronald "Got...04:21play
D3. DiamondBars N HooksRonald "Got...04:05play
D4. Gun PlayBig NoydRonald "Got...04:43play
D5. You Can Never Feel My PainRonald "Got...03:28play
D6. H.N.I.C. (Outro)Ronald "Got...00:17play
Keine Bewertungen

Es liegen keine Kommentare zu diesem Artikel vor.