Dirty Art Club – Basement Seance


US - Reissue
Instrumentals + Hip Hop / Rap
dirty club, dirty art, dac
Dirty Art Club - Basement Seance
Keine Bewertungen

2021 Reissue / Repress on Black Double Vinyl.

Entering the Dirty Art Club is like letting an encyclopedic sample curator soundtrack a vibrant psychedelic cartoon dream. Conceived in North Carolina, fragments of sun-kissed soul and dusty psyche-rock sounds are stitched together and intertwined with live instrumentation recorded in a home studio setup to convey a woozy and soulful experience. It's a blend that’s been refined on Dirty Art Club’s latest album, “Basement Séance”, which is themed around sampling rare “old songs and records that barely anybody's heard" and reanimating them into a new life. 

Embracing a recording environment that usually involves sitting on the floor in a dark room, the Dirty Art Club production style is anchored around the technique of creating a sonic texture based on multiple sources: The fruits of vinyl digging trips are combined with layers of live instrumentation and embellished with field recordings and atmospheric effects. These component parts are skillfully mixed so that they “sound like one sample.” It’s a trick that creates a unity of sound where songs segue together while moving the emotional narrative along. 

This emotional resonance is what elevates Dirty Art Club’s music from being a simple hip-hop beat tape. It's a feat made more remarkable by the fact that during the two-year recording process of “Basement Séance”, its chief protagonist was overcoming a battle with the medical condition anhedonia as a symptom of a larger unspecified health issue. It left him temporarily "losing the innate feelings that govern how I identify with and perceive music.” This was after a lifetime of feeling “music-inspired emotion” more than any other source. 

"I'd lost all hope in my ability to inject something more essential than drums, effects, and supplemental noise into samples," confesses the man behind Dirty Art Club, before summing up his personal recovery and philosophy towards creating compositions. “If music really has something magical about it—as I've always believed it has—then the loss I was experiencing would somehow embed itself in the songs and be felt in lieu of my absence.” Consider that the true essence of a basement seance. ~ Phillip Mlynar

Vinyl 2LP Only Vinyl
30,95 €*
Lieferbar in 4 bis 5 Wochen
Vinyl 2LP + Digital Vinyl + Digital Vinyl + Digital
33,95 €*
Lieferbar in 4 bis 5 Wochen
A1. Queen Persephone03:38play
A2. Painkillers03:49play
A3. The Gate02:34play
A4. God City02:02play
A5. Pulp02:16play
A6. Sick Boy03:14play
B1. What If03:00play
B2. Basement Seance02:41play
B3. Into The Spiritual03:08play
B4. The 13th Dimension03:53play
B5. Native's Blood02:54play
C1. Ultraviolet Chandelier02:12play
C2. Sugar02:25play
C3. Soul Eater03:11play
C4. Numerology01:49play
C5. Fires02:44play
C6. Planet Xanax01:55play
D1. Sayonara01:30play
D2. True Stories02:04play
D3. Daysleeper03:39play
D4. The Machine01:51play
D5. Midnight Blue03:09play
D6. Yesterday Is Forever03:08play
Keine Bewertungen

Es liegen keine Kommentare zu diesem Artikel vor.