Slum Village
Fantastic Vol. 2

Ne'astra Music Group

First Date:
US - Original
Hip Hop / Rap
Slum Village - Fantastic Vol. 2
Keine Bewertungen

2015 Re-issue

The contributions of the late Detroit producer James DeWitt Yancey –better known to the world as J Dilla- to the world of hip-hop can't be overstated, and nowhere is his legacy more apparent than his work as a member of Slum Village. A founding member of the trio, (Alongside rappers T3 and Baatin) Dilla provided the group's distinctly esoteric, free-wheeling sound, built around winding basslines, quirky drumbeats, subtle low-end frequencies, and classic jazz & soul samples. 

Against the backdrop of Dilla's rich production, T3 and Baatin's free-flowing style of rhyming would also earn wide critical praise, leading to comparisons as the successors to A Tribe Called Quest. (A label they themselves have rejected.) 

After the success of Slum’s 1997 studio debut, Fan-Tas-Tic Vol. 1, the group wentto work on their follow up. Though the project was completed in ’98, label turmoil 
kept the project on ice until 2000. By the time Fantastic Volume II hit Dilla was well on his way to his status as a hip hop legend having produced cuts for Common, Busta Rhymes, Erykah Badu, A Tribe Called Quest and many more. Later works from Slum Village may have had more of an impact sales-wise (in the immediate) but Fantastic Vol. 2 had fans and many critics saying that Slum Village, and Dilla in particular, may “single-handedly save rap music.” Perhaps that statement is hyperbole but many consider Fantastic Volume II to be Slum Village’s finest work ever to this day. 

Ne'Astra Media Group now presents the album reissued on vinyl, for the first time in several years. Every wobbling bass note of J Dilla's production has been preserved to maintain the legacy of this hip hop rap classic and maintain the legend of one of hip-hop's greatest beatsmiths.

Vinyl 2LP Only Vinyl
21,95 €*
Wenige Exemplare auf Lager - schnell bestellen!
Vinyl 2LP + Digital Vinyl + Digital Vinyl + Digital
25,95 €*
Wenige Exemplare auf Lager - schnell bestellen!
A1. IntroJay Dee01:16play
A2. Conant GardensJay Dee03:10play
A3. I Don't KnowJay Dee02:26play
A4. JealousyJay Dee04:05play
A5. Climax (Girl Shit)Jay Dee03:30play
A6. Hold TightQ-TipJay Dee03:14play
B1. Tell MeD'AngeloD'Angelo, J...04:38play
B2. What It's All AboutBusta RhymesJay Dee03:35play
B3. Forth And BackKuruptJay Dee04:26play
B4. Untitled (Fantastic)Jay Dee03:54play
B5. Fall-N-LoveJay Dee03:32play
C1. Get Dis MoneyJay Dee03:32play
C2. Raise It UpJay Dee04:27play
C3. Once Upon A TimePete RockJay Dee, Pe...05:54play
C4. PlayersJay Dee02:26play
C5. Eyes UpJay Dee04:23play
D1. 2 U 4 UJay Dee03:08play
D2. CB4Jay Dee03:46play
D3. Go LadiesJay Dee04:41play
D4. Thelonious (Bonus Cut)04:30play
D5. Fall In Love [Remix] (Bonus Cut)04:00play

I Don't Know

Conant Gardens

Keine Bewertungen

Es liegen keine Kommentare zu diesem Artikel vor.