De La Soul – 3 Feet High And Rising

Tommy Boy Music

US - Reissue

Old School + United States + Hip Hop / Rap
q tip, native tongues, a tribe called quest
De La Soul - 3 Feet High And Rising
Keine Bewertungen

Neon Blue & Neon Magenta Vinyl Edition!

"3 Feet High and Rising" is the debut studio album by American hip hop trio de la Soul. It was released on March 3, 1989, by Tommy Boy. It marked the first of three full-length collaborations with producer Prince Paul, which would become the critical and commercial peak of both parties. Critically, as well as commercially, the album was a success. It contains the singles, "Me Myself and I, " "The Magic Number, " "Buddy, " and "Eye Know." The album title came from the Johnny Cash song "Five Feet High and Rising" It is listed on Rolling Stone's 200 Essential Rock Records and The Source's 100 Best Rap Albums (both of which are unordered). When Village Voice held it's annual Pazz & Jop Critics Poll for 1989, "3 Feet High and Rising" was ranked at #1, outdistancing it's nearest opponent (Neil Young's Freedom) by 21 votes and 260 points. It was also listed on the Rolling Stone's The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time. Released amid the 1989 boom in gangsta rap, which gravitated towards hardcore, confrontational, violent lyrics, de la Soul's uniquely positive style made them an oddity beginning with the first single, "Me, Myself and I." Their positivity meant many observers labeled them a "hippie" group, based on their declaration of the "D.A.I.S.Y. Age" (da inner sound, y'all). Sampling artists as diverse as Hall & Oates, Steely Dan and The Turtles, 3 Feet High and Rising is often viewed as the stylistic beginning of 1990s alternative hip hop (and especially jazz rap). It was ranked 7 in Spin's "100 Greatest Albums, 1985-2005, " ranked 88th in a 2005 survey held by British television's Channel 4 to determine the 100 greatest albums of all time. In 1998, the album was selected as one of The Source's 100 Best Rap Albums. In 2003, the album was ranked number 346 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 greatest albums of all time. In 2006, Q magazine placed the album at #20 in it's list of "40 Best Albums of the '80s." In 2012, Slant Magazine listed the album at #9 on it's list of "Best Albums of the 1980s." The album was also included in the book "1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die." 3 Feet High and Rising hit #1 R&B/Hip hop, Billboard Music Charts "One of the greatest albums ever made" - NME "The Sgt. Pepper of hip hop" - Village Voice #5 on the top 100 Albums of the Century - Spex Top album of 1989 - The Face, At #2 - Record Mirror, At #4 - Sound, At #5 - Rolling Stone, At #10 - Melody Maker In 2011, "3 Feet High and Rising" was among 25 albums chosen as additions to the Library of Congress' 2010 National Recording Registry for being cultural and aesthetically and also for it's historical impact. "America's recorded-sound heritage has in many ways transformed the soundscape of the modern world, resonating and flowing through our cultural memory, audio recordings have documented our lives and allowed us to share artistic expressions and entertainment. Songs, words, and the natural sounds of the world that we live in have been captured on one of the most perishable of all of our art media. The salient question is not whether we should preserve these artifacts, but how best collectively to save this indispensable part of our history."- James H. Billington from the Library of Congress. Coincidentally, Steely Dan's album Aja, from which "3 Feet High and Rising" samples, was also named to the registry that year. The album is also credited with introducing the hip hop skit, a style of comedic sketch used both to introduce rap albums and as interludes between songs.

Vinyl 2LP Only Vinyl
49,95 €*
Noch nicht lieferbar, vorbestellbar. Vorauss. lieferbar ab: 31.12.2022
Vinyl 2LP + Digital Vinyl + Digital Vinyl + Digital
52,95 €*
Noch nicht lieferbar, vorbestellbar. Vorauss. lieferbar ab: 31.12.2022
A1. IntroPrince Paul01:42play
A2. The Magic NumberPrince Paul03:18play
A3. Change In SpeakPrince Paul02:36play
A4. Cool Breeze On The RocksPrince Paul00:47play
A5. Can U Keep A SecretPrince Paul01:42play
A6. Jenifa Taught Me (Derwin's Re...Prince Paul03:25play
A7. Ghetto ThangPrince Paul03:38play
B1. Transmitting Live From MarsPrince Paul01:10play
B2. Eye KnowPrince Paul04:13play
B3. Take It OffPrince Paul01:53play
B4. A Little Bit Of SoapPrince Paul00:56play
B5. Tread WaterPrince Paul03:44play
B6. Potholes In My LawnPrince Paul03:52play
C1. Say No GoPrince Paul04:18play
C2. Do As De La DoesPrince Paul02:12play
C3. Plug Tunin' (Last Chance To C...Prince Paul04:06play
C4. De La OrgeePrince Paul01:13play
C5. BuddyPrince Paul04:55play
D1. DescriptionPrince Paul01:30play
D2. Me Myself And IPrince Paul03:50play
D3. This Is A Recording 4 Living ...Prince Paul03:09play
D4. I Can Do Anything (Delacratic)Prince Paul00:41play
D5. D.A.I.S.Y. AgePrince Paul04:43play
Keine Bewertungen

Es liegen keine Kommentare zu diesem Artikel vor.