Various – Vanguard Streetart (Pink Vinyl)


EU - Original
Electronic + Hip Hop / Rap
taskforce, jackie jackson, daddy gee
Various - Vanguard Streetart (Pink Vinyl)
Keine Bewertungen

Vanguard captures the iconic Bristol Sound. The early days of the iconic Bristol Sound are captured in a new album including an exclusive re-release of the very first track from Massive Attack and tracks from Smith & Mighty, Purple Penguin and more. The curated tracks are also linked in that all were originally released with bespoke original covers from legendary Bristol street artists, including Banksy and Will Barras, tying its release toVanguard’s current exhibition Bristol Street Art: The Evolution of a Global Movement at M Shed, Bristol, running until October. Compiled by DJ Boca 45 (Scott Hendy), Vanguard brings together the seminal tracks that defined the rebellious era which saw the birth of the Bristol Sound for the first time. Featured tracks include an exclusive re-release of Any Love - the first ever track by Massive Attack released on Massive Attack Records in 1988, Smith & Mighty’s breakout hit Walk On, Purple Penguin’s downtempo classic Memphis and other trip hop classics. The LP celebrates the globally recognised Bristol Sound whose experimental breakbeat rhythms and influence still dominate the scene today. Along with classic tracks from the ‘90’s into the ‘00’s and beyond, the album uncovers lesser known cuts by some of Bristol’s pioneering musicians such as One Cut and West Country hip hop’s finest Aspects. The explosion of the Bristol Sound coincided with the boom in UK street art which led to fruitful collaborations between artists and musicians. Finding inspiration in each other’s work, street artists frequently designed rave posters, logos and cover art while DJs provided the beats to accompany street artists’ clandestine painting. Vanguard The Album pays homage to these relationships with a beautifully put together gatefold LP featuring iconic cover art designed by some of the biggest names in street art such as Inkie, Dicy, Will Barras and Nick Walker. These early works capture the boisterous energy of the era and confirm Bristol’s status as an extraordinary cultural melting pot. The double vinyl record also features extensive sleeve notes written by Bristolian writer and curator Jamie Hombre as he reflects on these ground breaking cover art collaborations.

Vinyl 2LP Only Vinyl
34,95 €*
Noch nicht lieferbar, vorbestellbar. Vorauss. lieferbar ab: 15.11.2021
Vinyl 2LP + Digital Vinyl + Digital Vinyl + Digital
37,95 €*
Noch nicht lieferbar, vorbestellbar. Vorauss. lieferbar ab: 15.11.2021
A1. Smith & MightyJackie Jack...
A2. Boca 45 “wild Style Skit”
A3. Massive AttackDaddy Gee &...
A4. 3pm “better Late Than Never”
A5. Rpm “2000”
A6. One Cut “horn Tune”
A7. Boca 45 “walls On Fire Skit”
A8. Sir Beanz ObeFog Scratch...
A9. Purple Penguin “memphis”
A10. Numskullz “i’m Alive”
A11. One Cut “zombie Bomb Fire”
A12. Aspects “chinese Burns”
A13. Atari Safari “play This One F...
A14. Hundred Strong “sword Lies Br...Taskforce
A15. Boca 45Stephanie M...
Keine Bewertungen

Es liegen keine Kommentare zu diesem Artikel vor.