The Midnight Hour (Adrian Younge & Ali Shaheed Muhammad) – The Midnight Hour

Linear Labs
LL037 LP

Picture Gatefold
US - Original
Black Grooves + Funk + Soul
atcq, ali shaheed muhammad, adrian younge, a tribe called quest
The Midnight Hour (Adrian Younge & Ali Shaheed Muhammad) - The Midnight Hour
Keine Bewertungen

The Midnight Hour is Black excellence: an ode to the cultural sophistication that the Harlem Renaissance  established for its people. The Midnight Hour is comprised of Ali Shaheed Muhammad and Adrian Younge,  alongside a tight rhythm section and a full orchestra. The album has features from CeeLo Green, Raphael  Saadiq, Masha Ambrosius, Bilal, Eryn Allen Kane, Karolina and more. 

Adrian and Ali began working on this album back in 2013, but put the project aside as they would score  the hit Netflix series Marvel’s Luke Cage (the two even perform in an episode of the upcoming second  season). The Midnight Hour is a soul/jazz/hip hop album which continues the conversations started by  yesterday’s jazz and funk pioneers; those that created the bedrock of samples for hip hop producers in the  80s/90s. The Midnight Hour is sophisticated hip hop that fans will enjoy, capturing their jazz rhythm  section, and a full orchestra, to analog tape. 

One of the seminal compositions, “Questions” originally began as an unfinished Midnight Hour demo with  Cee-Lo Green. However, Kendrick Lamar heard the track and wanted to sample portions for his  GRAMMY-winning album To Pimp a Butterfly (the song ultimately made it to Kendrick’s 2016 compilation  Untitled Unmastered as ""Untitled 06 | 06.30.2014.""). The full, completed version of “Questions” is now the  lead single on The Midnight Hour.  “So Amazing” is a reimagining of Luther Vandross’ 1986 single. Ali and Adrian took Luther's original vocal  stems and composed new music, as if they were in the room with Luther originally. This transcendental  recording is something that really makes The Midnight Hour special.

Vinyl 2LP Only Vinyl
36,95 €*
Lieferbar in 2 bis 3 Wochen
Vinyl 2LP + Digital Vinyl + Digital Vinyl + Digital
39,95 €*
Lieferbar in 2 bis 3 Wochen
A1. Black Beacon04:00play
A2. MareLadybug Mecca01:06play
A3. It's YouRaphael Saadiq04:55play
A4. QuestionsCeeLo Green03:27play
A5. So AmazingLuther Vand...04:12play
B1. Gate 5404:03play
B2. Do It TogetherBilal03:09play
B3. Redneph In B-Minor02:47play
B4. Better Endeavor02:49play
B5. Smiling For MeKarolina03:03play
C1. Don't Keep Me WaitingMarsha Ambr...03:17play
C2. Bitches Do VoodooAngela Munoz00:54play
C3. PossibilitiesEryn Allen ...03:12play
C4. Mission02:56play
C5. Dans Us Moment D'erranceLaetitia Sa...03:03play
D1. Love Is FreeEryn Allen ...02:43play
D2. Together AgainNo ID, Jame...03:20play
D3. Feel AliveKarolina, L...02:56play
D4. There Is No Greater LoveLoren Oden,...02:19play
D5. Ravens02:24play
Keine Bewertungen

Es liegen keine Kommentare zu diesem Artikel vor.