Marvin Gaye – Collected (Coloured Vinyl)

Music On Vinyl

First Date:
Picture Gatefold
EU - Reissue
Black Grooves + Disco / Boogie + Funk + Soul
weldon irvine, miles davis, john coltrane, barry white
Marvin Gaye - Collected (Coloured Vinyl)
Keine Bewertungen

2019 Reissue on 180 Gram Audiophile Transparent Red & Royal Blue Colored Vinyl.

Limited Edition of 8080 Copies - Individually Numbered

Gatefold Sleeve + 2 Exclusive Marvin Gaye Postcards!

Music On Vinyl proudly presents a brand new series of COLLECTED albums. The new albums will focus on memorable artists with almost a life span of original intriguing music, covering a timeless musical period!

Motown released the first Marvin Gaye record in 1961 "(I'm Afraid) The Masquerade Is Over", a single intended for (radio) promotion from the singer's debut album. This was followed up by the officially released "Let Your Conscience Be Your Guide" a week later.

Gaye scored his first real hit with "Stubborn Kind of Fellow" in 1962, which he had co-written himself, joking about his alleged stubbornness. He found his own unique style with the single released at the end of the year: "Hitch Hike". The foundations were now laid for an enormous series of chart successes: "Pride And Joy", "Can I Get A Witness", "How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)" and "Ain't That  Peculiar" are all Motown classics from 1963-1965 which are still being regularly played today after all these years.

The duets he recorded with Kim Weston ("It Takes Two") and especially Tammi Terrell were certainly at least as good. Watching or listening to the Marvin Gaye recording whilst singing "Ain't No Mountain High Enough" with Terrell, you really can't come to any other conclusion than the fact you are looking at a couple who are hopelessly in love and who couldn't wait to consummate their love after they had finishing recording.

He scored his biggest ever hit with "I Heard It Through The Grapevine" in 1968. The "What's Going On" from the same named album became a number 1 hit in the USA and the album was received as a masterpiece everywhere and is now regarded as one of the most important records in pop history.

In 1973, the artistically and commercially very successful, "Let's Get It On" album was mainly a musical ode to Marvin's love for his new muse Janis Hunter.

The success enjoyed by "Sexual Healing" and the album which was released at the end of 1982, travelled with him. Suddenly Gaye, who had started to increasingly be forgotten about, was a celebrated star again and this was certainly a position the singer revelled in.

The pop world lost one of the most important soul singers ever to grace the world on 1st April 1984. He has left behind a series of fantastic hits plus a big handful of tracks which deserve the title of masterpiece, all COLLECTED on this album.

Vinyl 2LP Only Vinyl
28,95 €*
Sofort lieferbar.
Vinyl 2LP + Digital Vinyl + Digital Vinyl + Digital
31,95 €*
Sofort lieferbar.
A1. (I'm Afraid) The Masquerade
A2. Let Your Conscience Be Your
A3. Hitch Hikeplay
A4. Pride And Joyplay
A5. Can I Get A Witnessplay
A6. Once Upon A TimeMary Wellsplay
A7. Stubborn Kind Of Fellowplay
A8. How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved
B1. It Takes TwoKim Westonplay
B2. I'll Be Doggoneplay
B3. Ain't That Peculiarplay
B4. Ain't No Mountain High EnoughTammi Terrellplay
B5. I Heard It Through The Grapevineplay
B6. Ain't Nothing Like The Real T...Tammi Terrellplay
B7. You're All I Need To Get ByTammi Terrellplay
B8. Too Busy Thinking About My Babyplay
C1. What's Going Onplay
C2. Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology)play
C3. Inner City Blue (Make Me
C4. Trouble Manplay
C5. Let's Get It Onplay
C6. You Are EverythingDiana Rossplay
D1. Distant Loverplay
D2. I Want Youplay
D3. Got To Give Upplay
D4. Heavy Love Affairplay
D5. Sexual Healingplay
D6. Sanctified Ladyplay
Keine Bewertungen

Es liegen keine Kommentare zu diesem Artikel vor.