Hamburg Spinners – Der Magische Kraken

a-sexy, Légère
ASEXY 009 / LEGO241

DE - Original
Funk + Black Grooves + Jazz + Soul
myles sanko, jacques palminger, erobique, diazpora, carsten erobique meyer, babyman, afrokraut
Hamburg Spinners - Der Magische Kraken
Keine Bewertungen

Standard Edition Black Vinyl.

Dear listeners, here's the next episode of the Hamburg Spinners story: “Der Magische Kraken” (“The Magic Octopus”)

This time Hamburg Spinners left their home port for an underwater expedition to the open ocean diving for unheard tunes, finger snappers and floaters. Always in danger of encountering the Magic Octopus, a voracious entity who feeds on harmonies, rhythms and breaks -in a word the whole arsenal any musician is lost without and damned to drown in a sea of deadly silence and endless darkness... Listen yourself, enter a different world and witness how the Hamburg Spinners are getting carried away and drawn into the depths. A 20.000-mile plunge into the sea. Honestly! Had you ever thought that one can sink this low?

"Der Magische Kraken" is the sophomore album of the Hamburg Spinners, a contemporary soul, mod-jazz and R&B outfit based in Hamburg. Their sound blends floating Hammond organ lines, kinetic, driving grooves, funky breaks, and slicing, economic improvisation. The quartet features Carsten Meyer on Hammond B-3, Dennis Rux on guitar, David Nesselhauf on bass, and Lucas Kochbeck on drums. It was cut live on two weekends in April 2021 in Hamburg's Yeah!-Yeah!-Yeah!-Studios. The chemistry was right and in a truly democratic process ideas were fleshed out, arrangements were done on the spot. A will to collective playing whilst always sticking to the rudimentary basics was in the air. Thus the music could spread out like the arms of an octopus. And though there are limits on the sound of the Hammond organ quartet creativity can burst out & find its way to overcome the limits. Reminiscences of down-to-the-bone songs by Timmy Thomas or Phoenix might come to one's mind when listening to the new Hamburg Spinners album.

Never change a winning team: Meyer's soulful organ sound is buoyed by Rux’s warm and gripping guitar sound, Nesselhauf's dynamic bass lines and Kochbeck's tight in-the-pocket drumming. 

Vinyl LP Only Vinyl
23,95 €*
Sofort lieferbar.
A1. Der Magische KrakenDennis Rux
A2. Windjammer Ahoi!Dennis Rux
A3. Captain FlamingoDennis Rux
A4. SpiegelkugelfischDennis Rux
A5. Die Grosse FlauteDennis Rux
A6. Klar Zur WendeDennis Rux
B1. JeanskutterDennis Rux
B2. Durchs Meer Der QuallenDennis Rux
B3. Die Ledermuränen Kommen!Dennis Rux
B4. GrottenrallyDennis Rux
B5. Tentakel Am HorizontDennis Rux
Keine Bewertungen

Es liegen keine Kommentare zu diesem Artikel vor.