Biosphere – Dropsonde


EU - Reissue
Downtempo / Downbeat + Beat Art + Broken Beats / Headz + Electronic
bonobo, boards of canada, autechre, aphex twin
Biosphere - Dropsonde
Keine Bewertungen

2020 Reissue as Triple Vinyl Edition.

Dropsonde was originally released by Touch (UK) in 2006. This is a reissue with seven previously unreleased recordings.

Widely regarded as one of Norwegian electronic music's most important artists, Biosphere's [Geir Jenssen] career spans nearly two decades, several albums, lots of remixes, various sound installations, commissions, soundtracks and even the odd Himalayan summit.

You may recognise his work without knowing it, so frequently does it crop up on TV trailers and idents. In the early 1990s he was a pioneer of so-called 'Ambient Techno', but since then, he has refined his sound into something more magnetic and enduring.

Dropsonde' isn't a soundtrack like the interwoven 'Substrata' nor an episodic journey in the way that 'Autour de la Lune' is. Here Geir Jenssen is pushing new directions towards the jazz colours of Miles Davis and Jon Hassell, whilst re-invigorating the pulse and projection of his signature sound: a hypnotic combination of pleasure and dread.

The spatial aspects some have dubbed "Arctic sound" but it summons strong feelings, or as Exclaim from Canada put it, "in order to climb higher, you must first go deeper". Jon Savage adds: "As with all of the Biosphere albums, the music draws you in and makes you want to listen and feel. Jenssen's work acts on a very emotional level, one that encourages you to drift away into a haze of images and scenes brought to you by the music, where spectacular beauty hides unseen danger. Intense and moving, but comforting and soothing at the same time."

[A 'dropsonde' is a weather reconnaissance device designed to be dropped from an airplane or similar craft at altitude to take telemetry as it falls to the ground. It typically relays information to a computer in the dropping airplane by radio. The fall may be slowed by a parachute. Information collected by a typical dropsonde may include wind speed, temperature, humidity, and atmospheric pressure.] 

Vinyl 3LP Only Vinyl
33,95 €*
Sofort lieferbar.
Vinyl 3LP + Digital Vinyl + Digital Vinyl + Digital
36,95 €*
Sofort lieferbar.
A1. Dissolving CloudsGeir Jenssen04:28
A2. Birds Fly By Flapping Their W...Geir Jenssen06:35
A3. Warmed By The DriftGeir Jenssen06:50
A4. In Triple TimeGeir Jenssen05:50
B1. From A Solid To A LiquidGeir Jenssen05:19
B2. ArafuraGeir Jenssen05:04
B3. Fall In Fall OutGeir Jenssen07:10
C1. Daphnis 26Geir Jenssen06:45
C2. AltostratusGeir Jenssen05:11
C3. SherbrookeGeir Jenssen05:55
D1. People Are FriendsGeir Jenssen10:40
D2. In The Shape Of A FluteGeir Jenssen06:17
D3. Fair Winds For EscortGeir Jenssen05:31
E1. Windscale PilesGeir Jenssen05:29
E2. InsolateGeir Jenssen05:34
E3. La CalderaGeir Jenssen06:30
F1. Birds Fly By Flapping Their W...Geir Jenssen06:40
F2. Warmed By The Drift (v2)Geir Jenssen06:33
F3. Lost HorizonGeir Jenssen06:40
Keine Bewertungen

Es liegen keine Kommentare zu diesem Artikel vor.